Audacious writing week

Put on the coffee, log off Facebook, and get the laptop charged up–it’s time to write. A lot. Yes, it’s time for an audacious writing week (came up with that myself). Okay, maybe that’s a bit much. Maybe aiming to write a whole mess of words doesn’t quite fit the mold of “showing a willingness to take surprisingly bold risks.” After all, it’s just writing; it’s not like I’m going to be swimming the English Channel or climbing the Eiger. But it does mean putting everything else aside, putting in the hours, and putting down the words.

IMG_0298

Here’s a distraction I can handle: a lovely view of Notre Dame from Shakespeare & Co.’s new cafe.

Why now? Well, Merideth is off to D.C., the girls are on a ski trip with their school (gotta love the schedule of vacances scolaires in France!), so for me, it’s the perfect opportunity for a mini-NaNoWriMo of my own.

Now, I could use the time to get out of Paris to see another part of France; I did that in the fall and had a great week in Colmar and even got some good writing done. But doing that also means a lot more planning and energy spent finding places to write. So this week I’ll stick to Paris and see how much I can get done.

Planning the work, working the plan

Planning for this week has already paid off. Leading up to it, I spent time going through the manuscript, evaluating which parts need the most work, where the gaps are, and seeing what I could hope to get done in a focused week of writing. Suffice to say, I’ll have no shortage of material calling for my attention.

Having some specific writing goals helps, but the real enemy to getting the writing done isn’t found in the writing itself–it’s in all the distractions that clamor for my attention. (Like blogging, maybe? Hmm…) So, the more important planning I’ve done for this week has gone into how I’m going to organize my time, such as:

  • Getting to bed at 10. No binge-watching Netflix and noshing on Cheetos (can you even find those abominable things in France? I hope not!) and then waking up too sleepy and sluggish to get the writing started.
  • Getting up at 6 and getting ready for the day. (So far so good!)
  • Planning out some reading to give my brain a break from writing, since I can’t just write for eight hours straight. I’ll be starting each day with a chapter from 1 Peter and then dip into The Elements of Eloquence throughout the week for some writerly inspiration (I blogged about finding this fantastic book here. Check it out. Everyone who writes should read this book!). I’ve got a couple other books cued up as well.
  • Being intentional about exercise and meals and even chores.
  • Planning some lunches and coffees with friends and even a game night. I’m hoping to get a lot of writing done, but I still need to see other human beings!

So: here’s hoping for 15,000 words–or more–this week. I’m already more than 10% of my way there.

And now it’s time to get back to it. The next chapter is waiting.

 

4 thoughts on “Audacious writing week

  1. Thanks for the post today, Matt. Once I got over my jealousy of your venue and view, I was encouraged by the truth of the need for discipline in doing anything well. I am so proud of the way you are making the most of your time. In a new place with lots of free, unsupervised time, there are many pitfalls. You, my friend, have been intentional about redeeming the time. May the Lord meet you in the unexpected moments, may be be your strong support in times of weakness, and may he inspire in you wonderful turns of phrase….I ordered the Essentials of Eloquence today, per your recommendation!

    I miss you, brother.

    Chris

    >

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Chris! Discipline is key, isn’t it? I’ll have to post a picture of my most frequent writing view: my messy living room. It’s not all gorgeous views of amazing monuments all the time.
      I appreciate your encouragement, too. And I hope you enjoy the book. I’ll be posting some choice quotes from it this week.

      Like

  2. Pingback: Audacious Writing Week, Day 2… and excerpts of eloquence | a year with mona

  3. Pingback: The final lap | a year with mona

Leave a Reply

