Making connections in the blogosphere

versatile-blogger-award-31

How many blogs are out there in the blogosphere, anyway? I shudder to think. And of those, how many reward your web-surfing time with entertainment, a beautiful photo, a laugh, some encouragement, a provocative idea or a great insight? Well, those are the ones to seek out.

In the spirit of connecting people to cool content, behold: the Versatile Blogger Award. I’m still pretty new to the whole blogging scene, but as I’ve followed people’s comments and likes and looked through their blogs, it’s been great to discover intriguing people writing about all sorts of intriguing things all over this endlessly intriguing world.

So, thanks, bikurgurl, for nominating A Year with Mona for the Versatile Blogger Award. I’ve enjoyed your blog as well! Now, the rules state I’m supposed to tell you seven things about myself (which reminds me of those lists that used to fly around Facebook all the time) and then nominate 15 other blogs. Okay… I don’t even read fifteen other blogs, so I’ll have to go with quality over quantity.

The blogs I’m grooving on these days:

Angels in Paris – great photography from a friend here in Paris.

journeyinprocess – stories, photos, insights, inspiration. Another friend not only in cyberspace, but whom I’ve got to go on ministry journeys with to Italy and Lesotho.

malcolmmcloughlin.com – another blog from a real life friend in Paris. Laugh out loud funny and inspiring? Yes.

The Voice of One – “To know and preach nothing but Christ….” Hmmm… another real life friend! From waaaay back. And writing stuff that challenges and inspires me.

Some writing sites:

anaspoke – tons here about the modern maze that is self-publishing.

helpingwritersbecomeauthors – my go-to site for writing craft inspiration and insight. I’ve learned a TON from K.M. Weiland.

theeditorsblog – “Write well. Write often. Edit wisely.” Some fabulous writing advice here. For when you mean business as a writer.

So: seven sites. Seven good sites.

And seven things about me? Here goes.

  1. I grew up in the same house until I went to college. Since getting married, we’re averaging a new place to live every three years.
  2. After my first visit to Paris in 1993, I said, “Yeah, it was nice, but I don’t know if I’ll ever go back.”
  3. I’ve frequented Starbucks more now in Paris than I ever did in the States–because you can order a big coffee and set up shop with the laptop for hours!
  4. I like to improvise when cooking, but baking–with all those precise measurements and instructions–stresses me out.
  5. I thought about being an English major for about a week my freshman year of college, but then said, nah, that’s not for me–I’m a musician!
  6. Sometimes I like to re-read my favorite books more than read new ones.
  7. I like focusing on the big picture and all of the details. Maybe that’s why writing a novel feels like a good fit.

So there you have it. Check out some of the blogs listed above. You’ll find something good.

3 thoughts on “Making connections in the blogosphere

Leave a Reply

